Yours Hopefully
Yours Hopefully
My song of the week
1
0:00
-1:01

My song of the week

You'll understand why....
1

I discovered I can record audio straight into this blog. So here is my first audio blog. With the song that has been on loop in my brain.


It’s been a fevered week in England. Football may be Coming Home. In case you are unaware, this is a reference to a football song. England has underperformed on the pitch, but in the studio, they’ve excelled, their songs are much better than any other nation. I accept the bar is extremely low. Three Lions is in a league of its own, but I also have a fondness for New Order’s World in Motion; the John Barnes rap is so bad it’s good. Or maybe it is just bad. Either way, it makes me smile.

But dear listeners, do not fear, I am not rapping about football. My earworm is a classic. Undoubtedly inspired by this riveting week of sport - Wimbledon, Tour de France, Euro 2020 - but also because I like to remember that every day makes a difference.

We get lost in the past and future
But we only ever have this da
y.


And here is my favourite version of my earworm, sung with effortless elegance by Dinah Washington.

Yours hopefully,

Nazneen xxx

Yours Hopefully is an experiment in living hopefully. With music and musings, from a singer-songwriter-scientist. Why not subscribe and get a post every Sunday in your inbox?


1 Comment
Yours Hopefully
Yours Hopefully
Music and Musings on living hopefully from a singer-songwriter-scientist
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Nazneen Rahman
Recent Episodes